The Green Dogs of Dahshur

The Dwarfs of East Agouza
The Dwarfs of East Agouza are back with « The Green Dogs of Dashur » ! Once again, the prolific American-Egyptian trio composed of Alan Bishop (Acoustic Guitar-Bass/Alto Sax), Sam Shalabi (Electric Guitar) and Maurice Louca (Organ/Synthesizers/Beats) breaks off all constraints and reveals a resolutely free album offering the listener variations of seductive melodies and unhinged improvised trance. The hot embossed metallic double-headed dog designed by the Lebanese artist Lynne Zakhour perfectly illustrates this album that blurs the boundaries of rock and jazz. A new album that will certainly delight fans of Sun City Girls or Land Of Kush. 

  • Recorded by Adham Zidan in Cairo (tracks A1/B1/B2 recorded November 2016, A2 recorded September 2015)
  • Final mix at Break Glass studio, Montreal, Canada, December 2018 by Jace Lacek
  • Mastered by Harris Newman at Grey Market Mastering
  • Artwork design and Illustration by Lynne Zakhour (Studio Safar)
  • Back painting by Raafat Al-Kordy
  • Painting Photographed by Maha Mahmoun
Dwarfs of East Agouza:
  • Alan Bishop: Acoustic Guitar-Bass/Alto Sax
  • Sam Shalabi: Electric Guitar
  • Maurice Louca: Organ/Synthesizers/Beats
  • Limited green vinyl edition, with printed inner and download card. Limited to 100
  • Classic black vinyl edition, with printed inner and download card.
  • Digital
Tags: Alternative Rock, Free Jazz, Experimental, Arabic, Improvisation, Noise, Sun City Girls


Reviewed at